Comparison / Reviewed October 27, 2026

GovScout Pro vs HigherGov

HigherGov is a big, inexpensive data pool. GovScout Pro is a bid-decision adviser. If you are weighing the two, the real question is whether you need more opportunities or a better way to choose among them.

Analyze an Opportunity See GovScout Pricing

Free 3-day trial, no credit card required. Cancel paid plans anytime.

Important limit: this page reflects what HigherGov's and GovScout's own public pricing pages showed on October 27, 2026. Prices and features change; confirm with each vendor before you buy. Where a page did not state something, this page says so instead of guessing.

The short answer

HigherGov gives you a lot of data for $500 a year. GovScout Pro gives you a straight answer on whether to chase a specific bid. They solve different problems, which is why this is less of a contest than it looks. If you mostly need to find and track opportunities across a wide field, start with HigherGov. If you find plenty and keep burning proposal time on the wrong ones, start with GovScout Pro.

At a glance

Swipe the table sideways to see both columns.

QuestionGovScout ProHigherGov
Published price$29, $79 or $199 per month ($348 to $2,388 a year)Starter $500 a year (1 user). Standard $2,500 a year (up to 10 users). Enterprise is custom
How you payMonthly through Stripe, cancelable from the customer portalListed per year
Free trial3-day limited trial, no credit cardThe pricing page links a free trial but does not state its length or terms
Opportunity coverageFederal opportunities from SAM.govFederal and state/local opportunities
Searches and alerts10 saved searches (Beginner), 50 (Intermediate), unlimited (Professional)Unlimited searches and alerts on every plan
Decision helpMarcus gives a GO / TEAM / HOLD / PASS verdict with reasons and evidence gaps"AI insights" and pursuit management. I did not find a bid/no-bid verdict on the pricing page
Reading the solicitationDocument Intelligence turns PDFs and DOCX into requirements, red flags and a checklist (Intermediate and up, up to 25 saved reports on Intermediate)Not listed on the pricing page
Extra dataNone. It is not a market databaseVendor people database, labor pricing tool, M&A and investor database, per its pricing page
Exports and integrationsNone listed1,000 records per search export on Starter, API access and Zapier integration
SupportFounder-run, email contactLive analyst support and training listed on every plan

Where HigherGov is the better choice

Where GovScout Pro is the better choice

Using both is a legitimate answer. HigherGov Starter ($500) plus GovScout Pro Beginner ($348 a year) comes to about $848 for the year: one tool to find and track, one to decide. Most small firms should try one first and add the other only if the gap shows up in practice.

Five tips for choosing

  1. Count your users. Starter is one user. If a partner or a bid manager also needs a login, the jump to Standard is a $2,000 difference.
  2. Test with one NAICS code. Run the same search in each trial and in plain SAM.gov. Keep the tool that finds something you would have missed.
  3. Ask HigherGov what the free trial includes. The pricing page does not state its length or terms, so get them in writing before you rely on it.
  4. Check your decision process, not just your pipeline. If you already have 30 leads and no way to rank them, more data will not help. A verdict will.
  5. Use the free tools first. Run a real notice through the bid/no-bid scorecard and see which part of the process is actually breaking.

Bottom line

If you need a big, cheap data pool, HigherGov Starter is a strong value. If you need a clear yes or no on which bids deserve your hours, run a GovScout Pro trial on one live notice. They are not rivals so much as two halves of the same job.

Official sources reviewed

Frequently asked questions

How much does HigherGov cost?

HigherGov's pricing page lists Starter at $500 a year for 1 user, Standard at $2,500 a year for up to 10 users, and Enterprise as custom pricing. GovScout Pro is $29, $79 or $199 a month.

Does HigherGov have a free trial?

Its pricing page links to a free trial but does not state the length or terms. GovScout Pro offers a 3-day limited trial with no credit card required.

Which is better for a first-time federal contractor?

If you are still learning the market and want to see what is out there, HigherGov's wide data pool is useful. If you already see opportunities and need to decide which to pursue, or you want plain-English help reading a solicitation, GovScout Pro is aimed at that. Many people start with the free SAM.gov search and the free GovScout tools before paying for either.

Can I use HigherGov and GovScout Pro together?

Yes. They overlap less than they appear to: one is a data and tracking tool, the other is a decision adviser. Starter plus GovScout Pro Beginner is about $848 a year.

Does GovScout Pro cover state and local opportunities?

No. It works from federal opportunities on SAM.gov. If state and local buyers are a big part of your plan, HigherGov covers that and GovScout Pro does not.